Pursuit of Homelessness

While I was at Keller Williams Family Reunion (the real estate conference I posted about last time) we had the privilege of hearing from an incredible and inspiring man, Chris Gardner. Chris Gardner’s story is told in the popular movie The Pursuit of Happyness staring Will Smith. If you haven’t yet seen this movie, I highly… HIGHLY recommend it!

It was incredible to hear Gardner talk about his life. He described the life of a homeless man with a young boy as he struggled to survive on $1,000 a month while taking care of his young son. They lived in homeless shelters and the subway station bathrooms. They carried what little belongings they had with them wherever they went.

Without giving the entire story away I will let you know that Mr. Gardner is now a very wealthy and successful business man. During his homelessness Chris described how he focused on his end goal and did anything he needed to do to reach his goals. His story is an emotional and inspiring one.

Chris spent time talking about the increase homelessness in todays society. With so many Americans currently loosing their homes due to unemployment and foreclosures homelessness continues to increase. There is said to be over 3.5 million homeless people in America – it is hard to be sure as it is difficult for the census to count them. In Minneapolis specifically, it is estimated that on any given night 2,500 Minneapolis youth are homeless and on their own.

Which is why, I want to extend a formal invite for you to attend Jungle Red’s 10th Annual Treasure’s for Teens event this saturday.

Suzanne (Jungle Red's Owner) and I... as you can see I love her! :)

I wrote about last years event in a recent post where I wrote about Jungle Red’s recent exposure on Tabatha’s Salon Takeover. The evening begins at 7PM and will be held at the newly renovated Jungle Red Salon. I will be behind the bar serving drinks and there will be awesome items, gift certificates and artwork which will be up for auction. ALL proceeds go to Avenues for Homeless Youth. For more information on the event click here.

I hope to see you there!